2019 Maths Talent Quest Awards a success!

Friday 1 November 2019

The annual Maths Talent Quest (MTQ) Awards Ceremony was held at La Trobe University on the 17th October 2019. The ceremony awarded and celebrated the achievements of students receiving distinctions, high distinctions, special and national awards. With approximately 350 students, supported by their families and teachers, we highlighted the excellent in mathematical inquiry.

The Maths Talent Quest is run within Victorian schools as an inquiry-based project. Students may either complete their projects individually, in small groups, or as a class. From this, the best 6 entries per year level for each category are entered the State Maths Talent Quest to be judged by a large number of teachers and pre-service teacher volunteers. MTQ judging week at Latrobe, Bundoora is full of enthusiasm and excited judges who are always impressed by the quality of investigation and creative inquiry.

The MAV Student Activities Committee would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the teachers, volunteers and MAV staff who have dedicated their time to making Maths Talent Quest a success in 2019.

Key Achievements:

  • A total of 570 entries from 60 schools across Victoria and Tasmania were submitted into the 2019 Maths Talent Quest
  • Judges from across Australia came to the MAV office to participate in judging the National Maths Talent Quest competition
  • There were 21 Victorian entries into the National Competition with 5 of these entries winning first place at the national level.

To find out more about the MTQ visit:

Along with Distinctions and High Distinctions, the following Special Awards were recognised:

Special State Awards

La Trobe University Award – Presented by Associate Professor Katherine Seaton, Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Isabella McDonough
Banning plastic bags - can it really make a difference
Penleigh and Essendon Grammar

Jim Trotter Perpetual Award - Presented by Michael O’Conner, President of MAV

Misha Du Toit
What About The 5c Coin?
Our Lady of the Pines

2019 Outstanding Schools

  • Balwyn North Primary School
  • Carey Baptist Grammar School
  • Jells Park Primary School
  • Firbank Grammar School
  • Mentone Grammar School
  • Penleigh and Essendon Grammar

The event was also recognised National Award winners and was attended by students from New South Wales and South Australia. In 2020, Western Australia will host the National Awards.

National Winners

Year 2 Group
Kevin Pham, Savannah Lubansky, Tayla Britten
Lolly Maths
Regency Park Primary School

Year 4 Group
Juan Camilo Ardila, Ambrose Alex
The Soccer Ball
Lumen Christi

Year 4 Class
Mr Noordoff's Maths Class
Our Lego Houses
Jells Park Primary School

Year 5 Class
5N's MTQ
Balwyn North Primary School

Yr 5 Individual
Isabella McDonough
Banning plastic bags - can it really make a difference
Penleigh and Essendon Grammar

Year 8 Group
Nathan Meng, Hudson Ebbage
Which Form of Public Transport is Best?
Viewbank College

Special Awards and Commendations

Year 4 Individual
Rhys Basin
Humans vs Animals
Mentone Grammar

Year 10 Individual
Oscar De Jong
Hyperbolic Geometry
Tintern Grammar

Thank you to our major sponsor, La Trobe University for supporting the Maths Talent Quest. Without their support, we would not be able to hold the judging and awards ceremony in such a prestigious educational venue. Thank you to our two new sponsors for 2019, who’s support in making the Maths Talent Quest a success is much appreciated:

  • The Australian Maths Trust
  • MangaHigh

La Trobe University Australian Maths Trust Mangahigh

We were entertained by Felstead Education who presented their new show “Maths in Sport”. The audience was highly engaged in this high impact and thought provoking show highlighting and comparing fascinating world records.

MTQ skills

Displaying item 4 of 5